Staff Congress
MSU Collage Image



JULY 8, 2000


Jeff Barker

Sharon Beller

Larry Besant

Thelma Bumgardner

Vincent Butler

Gene Caudill

*Joy Cecil

Dan Connell

Lenore Dixon

*Patty Eldridge

Rosemary Hinton

Betty Hurley

*David Jessie

Linda Kegley

Margaret LaFontaine

*Velda Mabry

*Rhonda Mackin

Zack McClurg

Pam Moore

Carole Morella

Joel Pace

Belva Sammons

Dallas Sammons

Tim Smith

*Wilma Stegall

*Stephanie Stewart

Todd Thacker

Madonna Weathers

Kenneth White

*Ricky Williams

*Denotes member was absent

Guests: Roger Barker, Office of Human Resources

The meeting was called to order by Chair Thacker at 1 p.m. Chair Thacker asked Rep. D. Sammons to take minutes of the meeting until a secretary was elected. Minutes of the June meeting were reviewed. Corrections were made as follows:

The resolution honoring Larry Stephenson was added to the minutes. (See attachment)

MOTION: June minutes were approved as amended.

Proposed: Rep. Hinton Seconded: Rep. Beller

Called for Vote: Passed

CHAIR'S REPORT - Chair Thacker reported that Vice-president Daily had informed him the Retirees Tuition Waiver request had been turned down. However, Vice-president Daily wanted to remind Staff Congress that a discount on green fees at the golf course had been approved for seniors and that seniors could also take advantage of the Caudill Fellows program, which provides free tuition for citizens 65 and above at any Kentucky college.

Chair Thacker read the recommendation from retired Vice-Chair Larry Stephenson's Credentials and Elections Committee for Margaret LaFontaine, Belva Sammons, and Kenny White to fill current Staff Congress vacancies. A discussion followed concerning the length of term for the new replacements. It was questioned whether newly appointed members should serve the length of term that was vacant or whether newly elected members should be moved up to two-year terms. Chair Thacker recommended that the new appointees serve a one-year term. Since the appointees were recommend from a committee a motion was not required. Each appointee was voted on individually. All appointees were elected unanimously.

Chair Thacker asked Parliamentarian B. Sammons to conduct the election for Staff Congress Officers for the 2000-2001 year.

Rep. D. Sammons was nominated for Secretary by Rep. Thacker; seconded by Rep. White. Rep. Barker proposed that Rep. D. Sammons be elected by acclamation. Seconded by Rep. Dixon. Motion passed.

Rep. Moore was nominated for Vice Chair. Rep. Dixon proposed that Rep. Moore be elected by acclamation. Seconded by Rep. Besant. Motion passed.

Rep. Weathers was nominated for Chair. Rep. Moore proposed that Rep. Weathers be elected by acclamation. Seconded by Rep. Thacker. Motion passed.

Committee Reports

Credentials and Elections Committee - Given by Rep. Thacker in the Chair's Report.

Standing Appointments Sub-Committee - No Report

Fiscal Affairs Committee - No Report

Personnel Policies and Benefits Committee - No Report

REGENT'S REPORT - Regent Caudill reported the Board of Regents approved the university's Operating Budget and Personnel Roster and the President's contract for the coming year. A Board of Regents workshop (Board members only) will be held in Lexington, July 26th for two days. The Administrative Retreat will be held August 7th and 8th at Sheltowee Country Club.


NEW BUSINESS- Rep. Thacker asked that the Retirees Tuition Waiver Benefit be revisited by the Personel Policies and Benefits Committee. It was suggested that a cost analysis be done based on the number of retirees with children that might use this benefit. Several university employees would possible retire if such a benefit was in place. Chair Thacker had spoken with several employees that were remaining at the university because they could only take advantage of the tuition waiver benefit if they were employed by the university. Chair Weathers asked the Personnel Policies and Benefits Committee to re-visit this request.

Chair Weathers asked all representatives to break into assigned committees to get organized and elect committee chairs. New members were asked to choose a committee they would like to serve on. Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for the 2000-2001 year are as follows:

Credentials and Elections Committee  Sharon Bell - Vice Chair
Standing Appointments Committee

Rosemary Hinton - Chair

Stephanie Stewart - Vice Chair

Fiscal Affairs Committee

Belva Sammons - Chair

David Jessie - Vice Chair

Personnel Policies and Benefits Committee

Joel Pace - Chair

Larry Besant - Vice Chair

Rep. Weathers asked the Credentials and Elections Committee to meet to replace Rep. Wilma Stegall who is on leave from the university and has missed Staff Congress meetings since January 2000.


  • July 14, 2000 Last SOAR Date

  • August 7, 2000 Next Staff Congress Meeting

  • August 15, 2000 Residence Halls will officially open

  • August 16-18, 2000 Business Days

  • August 16, 2000 Faculty/Staff Breakfast

  • August 17, 2000 New Students arrive on Aug. 17 for orientation that will take place on Aug. 17 - 20.

  • August 18, 2000 Faculty/Staff Picnic

MOTION: Adjournment

Proposed: Rep. Butler Seconded: Rep. Moore

Called For Vote: Passed. Meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

Minutes by: Dallas F. Sammons, Secretary



WHEREAS, Mr. Larry Stephenson served on the steering committee to establish the Morehead State University Staff Congress; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Stephenson worked with members of the General Assembly to enact the law recognizing an elected staff member at each regional university as a voting member of the Board of Regents; and


WHEREAS, Mr. Stephenson has been elected numerous times by his peers as representative to the Staff Congress of Morehead State University, having served as Chairperson, Vice-Chair, committee chair as well as committee member; and


WHEREAS, Mr.Stephenson has honorably and diligently served the faculty, staff and students of Morehead State University for 33 years as a Residence Hall Director, Director of Student Housing, Dean of Students, Director of Student Activities, Advisor to Student Government Association, faculty member; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Stephenson's dedication, commitment, and loyalty to Morehead State University has resulted in his being selected by fellow staff members to receive the Distinguished Staff Service Award for 1999 - 2000 and the Student Government Association named its scholarship fund and graduate fellowship endowment in his honor;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Staff Congress of Morehead State University that Mr. Larry Stephenson be and hereby is commended for his 33 years of distinguished service and commitment to Morehead State University; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Staff Congress of Morehead State University expresses its sincere gratitude and appreciation for his leadership and guidance.

The Staff Congress extends their best wishes to Mr. Stephenson in his retirement.

Done this fifth day of June 2000.



Todd Q. Thacker, Staff Congress Chair

Larry Gene Caudill, Staff Regent

Lois Hawkins, Staff Congress Secretary