Staff Congress
MSU Collage Image



Special Called Meeting for the Staff Congress Election Process

March 18, 2002


Sharon Beller

Larry Besant

T. Bumgardner

*Vincent Butler

Gene Caudill

Joy Cecil

Rhonda Crisp

Lana Fraley

*Patty Eldridge 

Michael Hopper

David Jessie

Linda Kegley

Rhonda Mackin

Jackie McCleese

*Zach McClurg

Pam Moore

Carole Morella

*Lonnie Morris

Lora Pace

Darlene Ramey

Belva Sammons

Dallas Sammons

Tim Smith

Jeannine Stevens

*Stephanie Stewart

Willis Taylor

Todd Thacker

*Jonell Tobin

Madonna Weathers

Rick Williams

*Denotes member was absent

            Chair Weathers called the meeting to order at 1:10 pm in the Eagle Room of ADUC.  A quorum was present.  The purpose of the called meeting was to finalize the election process for the Staff Congress to be held in May 15, 2002

Rep. Hopper, Credentials and Elections Committee Chair presented the following proposal from the committee:


The Credentials and Elections Committee recommends that voting in the May 1, 2002 Staff Congress election be conducted in the same manner as previous elections, with voting machines set up in a polling place in the lobby of ADUC.


Proposed: C&E Committee

Seconded:  Rep. Pace

Called for vote by ballot:

Defeated.  Yes - 9 votes: No - 13 votes

Rep. Hopper presented additional information to the congress.  There are approximately 730 staff members eligible to vote in the 2002 election.  In 2001, there were 661 eligible voters and 676 eligible voters for the 2001 election.  Of the current 730 eligible voters, 161 do not have an AIMS account to vote on-line.  110 of these staff are employed in the physical plant.  37 of the 110 do not have an account established and 73 have accounts, but have not activated the account.  The remaining 51 eligible voters are dispersed across the campus.  Rep. Hopper shared an email from Susette Redwine regarding the recent on-line Student Government Association primary election.  This year's primary election participation was up 40.5% from last year.  586 students voted in the primary election, which was an increase of 87% over the 2000 primary election. Chair Weathers indicated the cost of the maintaining voting machines for the election to be approximately $800.

After the defeat of the above recommendation, the following was proposed:


Staff Congress elections be held using the two options: computerized voting as stated in the memo sent to all staff on March 1, 2002 and paper ballot.  Staff who wish to vote with paper ballots and absentee voters must request an official ballot from Mike Hopper, Chair of the Credentials and Elections committee on or after Monday April 15, 2002 in 322 Allie Young Hall or by scheduled times at various locations across campus.  Completed paper ballots must be returned no later than 4:30 pm, Friday May 8, 2002. The ballots will be turned in at various campus locations to be announced.  Voters who request paper ballots will locked out of the computerized election on May 15, 2002. 


Proposed:  Rep. Pace

Seconded:  Rep. Besant

Called for vote by ballot:

Defeated:  Yes 11 votes  No - 12 votes

 As a result of the defeat of the 2 different proposals, Chair Weathers appointed an Ad Hoc Committee to come up with an election process to be presented at the April 1st, Staff Congress election.  The committee is composed of the following staff congress representatives with Vice-Chair Jessie to chair the committee:

Sharon Beller                Lora Pace

Pam Moore                   Jeaninne Stevens

Carole Morella               Willis Taylor


 Chair Weathers announced that she would be resigning from the Staff Congress due to her new assignment as Vice-President for Student Life.  Rep. Morris has submitted his resignation due to job responsibilities that keep him from attending Staff Congress meetings.  The resignations will add one At-Large and one Professional/Non-faculty positions to be filled.


To adjourn


Proposed:  Moore

Seconded:  Caudill

Called for vote:


Minutes submitted by:  Dallas F. Sammons, Secretary