Staff Congress
MSU Collage Image



June 7, 2005


*Darlene Allen Rhonda Crisp David Jessie Rhonda Mackin Belva Sammons *Willis Taylor
Ed Beam *Ray Crum Linda Kegley Amy Moore Dallas Sammons Cindy Thompson
Lisa Caskey *Kim Fultz Donna King Pam Moore *Rhonda Sloan Jonell Tobin
*Joy Cecil Phillip James M. LaFontaine April Nutter Doug Snedegar Terry White
Gaylena Cline Kristie Jenkins *Jeffrey Liles Darlene Ramey Stephanie Stewart Elizabeth Williams

*Denotes member was absent

Guests: Lora Pace, Chair Ex-officio of Staff Congress and  First Year Program & Retention Director

Chair Jessie called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.  A quorum was present.  

Motion: To approve the  May 2, 2005 meeting minutes.
  Proposed:  Rep. James Seconded:  Rep. LaFontaine
Called for Vote: Approved with corrections on Page 2, paragraph two of "New Business" change "University may be doing away with merit pay system" to "University will not be doing away with merit pay system.".  Also on Page 2, paragraph three under "New Business" change "President's Leadership Council" to "President's Leadership Academy".  Page 3 first sentence change "council" to "group".  Last sentence of paragraph one change "academics" to "academy"


Chair's Report Chair Jessie thanked everyone for attending today's luncheon.  He then introduced new Staff Congress members Todd Thacker and Rosemary Hinton.  He told the new members that they would be receiving their Staff Congress pins at the first meeting in July.  Chair Jessie reported that he had met with President Andrews this morning to discuss some issues.  He will meet with the Executive Council before the July meeting to go into further detail about this discussion.  Chair Jessie then presented Rep. Belva Sammons with a plaque for her 15 years of service to Staff Congress.  Belva will be retiring from MSU the end of the July.
Vice-Chair's Report No report.
Secretary's Report No report. 


Committee Reports

Credentials and Elections Rep. LaFontaine reported that all went well with this year's Staff Congress elections.  She then gave the floor to Rep. Snedegar to report on the election results.  Rep. Snedegar stated that he would like to thank Rep. Nutter and Sec. Caskey for all of their help and patience with making sure that everything was on-line for this year's elections.  He reported that the number of eligible voters was up this year.  He also reported that the number of people who voted on-line was up this year and that paper ballot voting was down this year.  Rep. Snedegar reported that voting for the Service and Maintenance category was down this year as well as Skilled Crafts and Technical/Paraprofessional categories.  Secretarial/Clerical and Professional/Non-Faculty categories had an increase in voting.  The Executive/Administrative/Managerial category had no change in voting practices.   He then named the elected representatives for each category that had nominees to be elected.  The elected representatives are as follows:  At-Large - David Jessie, Rhonda Mackin and Todd Thacker; Professional/Non-Faculty - Shannon Harr and Margaret LaFontaine; Secretarial/Clerical - Rosemary Hinton and Pam Moore; Service/Maintenance - Linda Kegley.
University Standing Appointments Rep. Stewart reported that she had sent out surveys for committee assignments.  She also reported that she still had not received any back from Service and Maintenance employees.
Fiscal Affairs No report.
Personnel Policies and Benefits No report.

Old Business

Rep. A. Moore reported that at a previous meeting her committee was asked to check on service awards.  She noted that there is a Service Committee on campus that makes the decisions on what to award employees for their years of service.  The Chair of that committee asked Rep. A. Moore to go back to Staff Congress for recommendations on what types of awards they would like to see be given to staff members.  Chair Jessie asked for any suggestions for service awards, be given to Rep. A. Moore for the committee to discuss. 

New Business

Rep. James suggested that during the July meeting candidates for offices held give a brief speech as to why they would be the best candidate for an office in Staff Congress.  Rep. B. Sammons said that years ago this used to be done but then it got to where no one would accept a nomination because they did not feel comfortable speaking before the Staff Congress.  She added that she felt this would be a good procedure to start again.  Chair Jessie then called for a motion.

Motion: For the nominees of Staff Congress officers to give a brief speech as to why they would be a good candidate, then they would leave the room for Staff Congress members to hold a discussion regarding the nominees.  After Staff Congress' discussion, nominees would then return and the election would then be held for the offices.
  Proposed:  Rep. James Seconded:  Rep. A. Moore
Called for Vote: Motion passed.


Rep. LaFontaine discussed how Staff Congress could handle filling Rep. B. Sammons position once she retires at the end of the month and how to fill positions in categories that had no nominees to be voted on during this year's elections..  Rep. LaFontaine said that for categories that had no nominees, we could move members from the At-Large category into their respective job categories where they would then complete a three-year term.  We would then propose the persons from the At-Large category with the next highest votes to complete the remainder of the terms.  She  reported that when Rep. B. Sammons retires we would take the person with the next highest vote in the Professional/Non-Faculty category to complete that term.  New Staff Congress member Todd Thacker asked if the by-laws allowed us to move Staff Congress members around from one category to another without them resigning from their present category.  Rep. B. Sammons said that this had been done in previous years.  Chair Jessie asked Rep. LaFontaine to get her committee together to check Staff Congress' By-Laws to see if this would be possible and to report back on the matter at our July meeting.

Regent's Report  - No report.


Rep. James announced that the Breckinridge High School reunion would be held on-campus June 17, 18 and 19.

Rep. LaFontaine announced that the 9th Annual University Games would be held again this Fall.  The committee would begin work soon to set the date and activities.  She asked if anyone has suggestions for games to see her.

Rep. D. Sammons announced that Cartmell Hall doors are now being accessed by students with their ID cards.  In the Fall all dorms should have this ability.

Rep. Tobin announced that Route 7 and Highway 519 would be closed all week.

Rep. Thompson announced that there would be a Hoops for Hope basketball game on Saturday, June 11 at 5:00 p.m. at Rowan County Senior High School to benefit Amy Hardman.  Donations can be given at the United Methodist Church.  Amy is the daughter of Theresa Hardman who is a faculty member in the  Department of Health, P. E. and Sports Sciences

Meeting was adjourned at 1:06 p.m.

Minutes submitted by:  Lisa Caskey, Secretary