Faculty Research and Creative Productions
MSU Collage Image


  Michael Hail
Dr. Michael Hail
Recipient of the 2013
Distinguished Researcher

Lisa Mesa-Gaido

Elizabeth Mesa-Gaido
Recipient of the 2013
Distinguished Creative Production

Research and Creative Productions Committee


The research, scholarship, and other creative activities of our teacher-scholars form the cornerstone of the intellectual life of the University.  Morehead State University and the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs are committed to providing the resources and infrastructure necessary to develop, maintain, and grow the scholarly potential and accomplishments of our faculty, staff, and students.

For faculty, we offer several internally funded grant opportunities including  Faculty Research Grants,  Faculty Creative Production Grants, and   Faculty Summer Fellowships.  With certain restrictions, all tenured and tenure-track faculty (including Pac-34 instructors) and professional librarians may apply for these funds.  Proposals are recommended for funding after review by the MSU Research and Creative Productions Committee (RCPC).

In addition to these grant opportunities, the RCPC also evaluates nomination portfolios and recommends recipients for the annual MSU Distinguished Researcher Award and Distinguished Creative Production Award.  These prestigious awards are presented annually at the Opening Faculty/Staff Convocation for the Fall semester.

Sponsored by the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, the RCPC also oversees the MSU Annual Report of Research and Creative Productions and hosts the Annual Scholars Luncheon.

The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP) serves as the administrative office for the RCPC.  ORSP is located in 901 Ginger Hall, 606.783.2010.

Current faculty members of the RCPC:

Murray Strauss Y. Bessette, Assistant Professor of Government, 606.783.5395

Doug Chatham, Associate Professor of Mathematics, 606.783.2559

Carol Christian, Assistant Professor/Director P-16 Program, 606.783.2261

Michael Henson, Associate Vice President of Research and
  Dean of the Graduate School, 606.783.9080

Bo Shi, Assistant Professor of Finance, 606.783.2475

Sandy Sumner, Librarian II, 606.783.2200

*Currently there are three vacancies to be appointed by Faculty Senate in September 2013.  

For information about the work of the RCPC, contact Brenda DeHart at 606.783.9399. Committee members are appointed by the Faculty Senate.

For additional information regarding RCPC membership click here 

  News and Deadlines


RCPC Fall Grant Proposals
Due date October 14, 2013

RCPC Summer Fellowship Proposals
Due date November 4, 2013

Nominations for Distinguished Awards
Due date December 9, 2013

Portfolios for Distinguished Awards
Due date March 3, 2014

RCPC Entries for Annual Report
Due date February 3, 2014

RCPC Annual Scholars Luncheon
April 28, 2014, ADUC, Commonwealth Room
11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.