Standing & Advisory Committees
MSU Collage Image

Morehead State University Standing & Advisory Committee Descriptions


Termination Date: Standing Committee, last revision April 2001.

Purpose: To review the university-level and major divisional assessment processes, to review the results from these assessment processes, and to make recommendations.

Specific areas of review include but are not limited to:

  • Academic program reviews.
  • Reports from external evaluations for accreditation and certification.
  • Reports on measurements of key indicators mandated by the Council on Public Education for accountability, performance funding, and programs of distinction.

Membership: The committee membership will include: Provost (non-voting except to break a tie vote); Dean of Graduate and Undergraduate Programs; Assistant Vice-President for Planning and Budgets, or designee (ex-officio, non-voting); six tenured faculty members; one from each college plus two at-large; all selected by the Faculty Senate. At least one of the faculty members must be a member of the Faculty Senate. Gender equity must be considered in the membership. One Librarian III or IV selected by the Faculty Senate. President of the Student Government Association.

The faculty members and librarian serve two-year terms. Half the faculty will be replaced each year. The librarian will be replaced every two years. Faculty members and the librarian can succeed themselves one time.

Voting membership includes the Dean of Undergraduate and Graduate Programs, six faculty members, one librarian, and the President of the Student Government Association. The Provost votes only to break a tie.

A quorum will require over 50% of the total membership. Further, a quorum additionally requires either: four from the faculty members, or three from the faculty members and the librarian.

Establishing the Committee for the First Time:

This section will no longer be valid four years after this committee is established.

When the committee is organized for the first time, the faculty members and the librarian will serve for two years. Then the regular replacements will begin. For example: Suppose the committee had been established in August 2000 with Professors U, V, W, X, Y, and Z; and Librarian A. They all serve for academic years 2000/2001 and 2001/2002. For 2002/2003; Professors U, V. and W are replaced, and Librarian A is replaced. For 2003/2004: Professors X, Y, and Z are replaced.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • To examine and evaluate the undergraduate academic programs of the University for necessary revisions and to initiate recommendations to the President of the University for study or action by the colleges and/or departments. Committee recommendations should be sent directly to the President with a copy of the Chair of the Department and the Dean of the College housing the program.
  •  maintain regular communications with departmental assessment officers.

Officers: Officers will be selected as follows: 1) Chair will be the Provost; 2) Vice-Chair will be the Dean of Undergraduate and Graduate Programs; and 3) Secretary will be selected by the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: As called by the Chair.

Minutes and Proposals to: The Library, Faculty Senate, and Student Government Association.

Support Services: Office of the Provost.