Standing & Advisory Committees
MSU Collage Image

Morehead State University Standing & Advisory Committee Descriptions


Termination Date: Standing Committee, last revision March 2007.

Purpose: To ensure uniform, consistent and fair distribution of scholarship funds and to comply with University policies and procedures for distributing these funds.

Membership: Voting membership shall consist of the Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Services, one faculty member from each college to be selected by the Faculty Senate (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.), two professional non faculty staff members selected by the Staff Congress and two students selected by the Student Government Association. Nonvoting members shall be the Director of Budgets, the Honors Program Director, and the Program Specialist for Scholarships. The selected faculty and staff members shall serve two year terms with no more than one half being replaced each year. Student members shall serve a one year term.

Duties & Responsibilities:

  • The committee shall serve as an appeals body for all University budgeted and privately funded scholarship recipients.
  • To serve in an advisory capacity and recommend policies and procedures pertaining to scholarship programs.

Officers: Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary to be selected by the committee from the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: As Required.  A majority of the work of this committee will be completed during the summer and periodically during each semester.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Vice President for Student Life. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, and Staff Congress.

Support Services: Office of Financial Aid, Office of Development, Office of Budgets.






[home] [membership] [description]