Print Logo
MSU Home :: MSPR: The 2014 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Inductees

MSPR: The 2014 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame Inductees

When: Sunday, May 4, 2014 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Where: Morehead State Public Radio, WMKY, 90.3 FM Radio


This program will showcase Kentucky writers that were inducted into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame on January 23 at the Carnegie Center in Lexington. Inductees include:

Children’s author Rebecca Caudill, best known for "A Pocketful of Cricket" and "Tree of Freedom";

University of Kentucky professor Thomas D. Clark, best known for "A History of Kentucky";

Novelist Janice Holt Giles, whose work focused on Kentucky historical fiction;

James Baker Hall, a UK professor and Kentucky’s 2001 Poet Laureate;

Affrilachian poet Etheridge Knight, whose work was strongly influenced by the civil rights movement;

Thomas Merton, a Trappist monk and one of the most prolific 20th century Catholic writers;

and Jesse Stuart, known for his sonnets and focus on rural Appalachia.



© Copyright 2015 Morehead State University - 150 University Blvd. Morehead, KY 40351 • 1-800-585-6781
MSU is an affirmative action, equal opportunity, educational institution.