MSU Collage Image

MSU cheer squads announce new members

Morehead State University has a history of winning when it comes to cheerleading. Earlier this year, the coed and the all-girl squads took the national title in the College National Cheerleading Championships.

This was the fourth time both squads had won top honors in the same year. Overall, the coed squad has won 15 times while the all-girl team has taken the title five times. Members of the cheer squads spend many hours in practice before performing at home basketball and football games, holding clinics and participating in other activities where they serve as ambassadors for the University.

Come fall, there will be some new faces that will join the returning members of the cheerleading squads. During the summer, they will participate in cheer camps, and continue to hone their skills through exercise, gymnastic routines and strength training.

Tony Nash, MSU spirit coordinator who coaches the cheerleaders, has announced the cheerleading squads for the 2005-2006 academic year.

Members of the coed squad include: Joe Arkansas of San Marcos, Calif.; Brian Babcock of Coeur D'Alene, Idaho; Clay Clark of Stafford, Va.; Nicole Croft of Spencerville, Ohio; Molly DuChemin of West Alexander, Ohio; Adam Duflinger of Post Falls, Idaho; Rachel Duggins of Georgetown; Emily Eversole of Morehead; Alicia Gifford of West Farmington, Maine; Brittany Kaczetow of Centereach, N.Y.; Patrick, Boyer-Latman of Simi Valley, Calif.; Jenna Littleton of Flemingsburg; Laurel Long of Chillicothe, Ohio; Brien McColpin of Wichita, Kan.; Josh McCurdy of Meridian, Idaho; O'Shea Parker of Bowling Green; Robert Reynolds of Bartlett, Tenn.; Mo Rodriguez of Escondido, Calif.; Billie Sue Roe of Appleton, Wis.; Chris Schultz of Escondido, Calif.; Kelsey Simpson of Lexington; Tracy Smith of Phillipsburg, N.J.; Mark Spearman of Collier Twp., Pa.; and Jennifer Vilaboy of Ramona, Calif.

Members of the all-girl squad will be: Kimmy Alderman of Morehead; Katie Axe of Fairdale; Brittany Brown of Sharpsville, Pa.; Lindsay Bryan of Catlettsburg; Michelle Carbone of Massapequa Park, N.Y.; Morgan Carroll of Fitchburg, Wis.; Crystal Courtney of Burke, Va.; Crystal Crawford of Ashland; Lauren Danks of Beaver Dam; Danielle Garone of N. Massapequa, N.Y.; Christa Glover of Martin, Tenn.; Brittany Grimes of Somerset; Kandice Hamilton of Pikeville; Marika Jones of East St. Louis, Ill.; Brandi Kratzer of Mt. Sterling; Amanda Lewis of Olive Hill; Suzanne Long of Richmond; Casey McCown of Cynthiana; Beth Millard of Kennewick, Wash.; Nikki Miller of Bonnyman; Kristin Nason of San Diego, Calif.; Kirby Ogden of Anderson, Ind.; Jennifer Orr of Knoxville, Tenn.; Leslie Pulley of Post Falls, Idaho; Lindsey Rapp of Perkasie, Pa.; Allyson Robertson of Ashland; Emily Sinkhorn of Georgetown; Laura Sinkhorn of Georgetown; Kasey Stephens of Lawrenceburg; Katie Trimble of Pikeville; Sarah Wendel of Springfield, Ohio; and Lindsey Young of Spokane, Wash.

Additional information about MSU's cheerleading squads is available by calling Tony Nash at (606) 783-9495 or online at