About MSU
MSU Collage Image

MSU Milestones

1887 - Morehead Normal School opens as a private, church-supported institution.

1922 - Morehead Normal School closes. Gov. Edwin Morrow signs legislative act creating state normal schools in Eastern and Western Kentucky; Morehead selected as eastern site.

1923 - Morehead State Normal School begins classes with Frank C. Button as president.

1926 - Name changed to Morehead State Normal School and Teachers College.

1927 - First class graduated (four persons).

1928 - Alumni Association founded.

1929 - Dr. John Howard Payne named second president.

1930 - Name changed to Morehead State Teachers College.

1935 - Dr. Harvey Babb becomes third president.

1940 - Dr. William H. Vaughan named fourth president.

1942 - U.S. Naval Electrical School based on campus through 1944.

1946 - Dr. William J. Baird becomes fifth president. Breckinridge Training School wins state high school basketball championship.

1948 - Name changed to Morehead State College. MSU helped organize Ohio Valley Conference.

1951 - Dr. Charles Spain appointed sixth president.

1953 - MSU becomes a member of the NCAA.

1954 - Dr. Adron Doran named seventh president.

1965 - WMKY becomes first public radio station in East Kentucky.

1966 - Name changed to Morehead State University.

1972 - MSU celebrates 50th anniversary as a public institution.

1977 - Dr. Morris L. Norfleet becomes eighth president.

1979 - MSU Foundation incorporated.

1984 - Dr. Herb. F. Reinhard becomes ninth president.

1986 - Dr. A. D. Albright becomes 10th president.

1987 - Dr. C. Nelson Grote becomes 11th president.

1992 - Dr. Ronald G. Eaglin becomes 12th president.

1995 - Eight buildings designated as National Historic District.

1997 - MSU celebrates 75th anniversary as a public institution.

1999 - A Light to the Mountains published as history of MSU.

2000 - First faculty chair endowed, honoring Dr. C. Louise Caudill.

2005 - Dr. Wayne D. Andrews named 13th president.